FAQ

A) Energy

By end 2020, 8 offshore wind farms with a 2.3 GW capacity will together produce approximately 8 TWh of green electricity annually, which is equivalent to the electricity consumption of 2.2 million homes, i.e. almost half of all Belgian homes.

With the new Marine Spatial Plan (2020-2026), offshore wind energy capacity can double to 4.5 GW in the coming years, so that offshore wind energy can meet one fifth of the electricity demand. The sector is doing everything in its power to realize this as soon as possible.

 

Map of the Belgian offshore wind farms

Offshore wind turbines produce electricity more than 90% of the time: they turn from a light breeze (2 Beaufort) to a violent storm (11 Beaufort). There is always wind at sea and the latest wind turbines can also continue to produce during severe storms.

 

B) Economy

Nearly 16 000 jobs will be created between 2010 and 2030 through the development, construction, maintenance and dismantling of wind farms and their electrical infrastructure. More information on the macroeconomic impact of the offshore wind industry can be found here.

 

C) Ecology

Wind turbines and foundations are almost entirely recyclable: 90% of their components are recyclable. When a wind turbine has to be dismantled (after about 25 years of producing green electricity), most of its materials are reused for the construction of new wind turbines. Materials that cannot be reused are fully recycled.

The wind and renewable energy industry is growing considerably and research is being carried out to build 100% zero waste wind turbines. For example, wind turbine manufacturer Vestas has recently committed to producing zero residual waste wind turbines by 2040.

Ten years of environmental monitoring by independent scientists have demonstrated that there is an increase in marine biodiversity in and around wind farms. More information are available on the website of the Royal Belgian Institute of Natural Sciences.

 

A wind farm emits 175 times less CO2 than the most modern gas plants. After 6 months to a year, an average wind farm (around 300 MW) completely neutralizes the CO2 emissions caused by its construction and operation. After that, the wind turbines continue to produce electricity for at least 20 years in an environmentally and climate-friendly way, without emitting CO2 or harmful substances and without producing harmful waste.

FAQ

A) Énergie

D’ici fin 2020, 8 parcs éoliens en mer d’une capacité totale de 2,3 GW produiront ensemble environ 8 TWh d’électricité verte par an, ce qui équivaut à la consommation d’électricité de 2,2 millions de ménages, soit près de la moitié des ménages belges.

Grâce au nouveau Plan d’Aménagement des Espaces Marins (2020-2026), la capacité de production d’énergie éolienne en mer pourra doubler et atteindre 4,5 GW dans les années à venir, de sorte que l’énergie éolienne en mer puisse répondre à un cinquième de la demande d’électricité. Le secteur fait tout ce qui est en son pouvoir pour y parvenir le plus rapidement possible.


Map of the Belgian offshore wind farms

Les éoliennes en mer produisent de l’électricité plus de 90% du temps : elles peuvent tourner dans des conditions allant d’une brise légère (2 Beaufort) à une violente tempête (11 Beaufort). Il y a toujours du vent en mer et les éoliennes les plus récentes peuvent continuer à produire même en cas de fortes tempêtes.

B) Économie

Près de 16 000 emplois seront créés par le secteur de l’éolien en mer entre 2010 et 2030 grâce au développement, à la construction, à la maintenance et au démantèlement des parcs éoliens et de leur infrastructure électrique. Plus d’informations sur l’impact macroéconomique de l’industrie éolienne en mer sont disponibles ici.

 

C) Écologie

Les éoliennes et leurs fondations sont presque entièrement recyclables : 90 % de leurs composants sont recyclables. Lorsqu’une éolienne doit être démantelée (après environ 25 ans de production d’électricité verte), la plupart de ses matériaux sont réutilisés pour la construction de nouvelles éoliennes. Les matériaux qui ne peuvent pas être réutilisés sont entièrement recyclés.

L’industrie éolienne et des énergies renouvelables se développe considérablement et des recherches sont menées pour construire des éoliennes 100% zero déchet. Par exemple, le fabricant d’éoliennes Vestas s’est récemment engagé à produire des éoliennes sans déchet résiduel d’ici 2040.

Un parc éolien en mer émet 175 fois moins de CO2 que les centrales au gaz les plus modernes. Au bout de 6 mois à un an, un parc éolien moyen (environ 300 MW) neutralise complètement les émissions de CO2 dues à sa construction et à son exploitation. Ensuite les éoliennes continuent à produire de l’électricité pendant minimum 20 ans d’une manière respectueuse de l’environnement et du climat, sans émettre de CO2 ni de substances nocives et sans produire de déchets nocifs.

Après 10 ans d’études environnementales menées par des scientifiques indépendants, une augmentation de la biodiversité marine à l’intérieur et autour des parcs éoliens en mer a été constatée. De plus amples informations sont disponibles sur le site de l’Institut royal des Sciences naturelles de Belgique.